Community College
CCP Home | My CCP


Community College of Philadelphia students with high grades, have completed (or will have completed) at least two semesters of calculus, and who are planning to transfer to a mathematics or mathematics-related program in a baccalaureate institution, are eligible for the following awards:

The Mathematics Department Award

The Mathematics Department Award is funded by donations from Community College of Philadelphia Mathematics faculty. Applicants must be in their final year of study at Community College of Philadelphia.

The Thomas Scott Award

The Thomas R. Scott Award was named for the late Community College of Philadelphia Mathematics Professor Thomas R. Scott. Applicants must be expecting to graduate from Community College of Philadelphia during the current academic year.

Qualifications and applications may be picked up at the Community College of Philadelphia Mathematics Department room West 2-7. Applications must include three letters of recommendation. The deadline for this years awards is Friday, February 3. Further information, please contact

Thomas Scott Award Winners

  • 2011: Hong Van Nguyen
  • 2010: Jia Ying Xu
  • 2009: Linda McLaughlin
  • 2008: Gustavo A. Orellana
  • 2007: Yue Wang
  • 2006: Kyle M. Hofler
  • 2005: Anh T. Do
  • 2004: Wei Sen Zhou (Bruce)
  • 2003: Sanda Sabrina Shwe
  • 2002: Si Ah Yoo
  • 2001: Jean Amanda Dorsey
  • 2000: Wing Mei So
  • 1999: Christine A. Keryluk

Math Department Award Winners

  • 2011: Nandip Gohel
  • 2010: Hicham Nassiri
  • 2009: Michael Valle
  • 2008: Rodriguez N. Tambeck
  • 2007: Mamadou Ciss
  • 2006: Simareesh S. Madan
  • 2005: Saumil Patel
  • 2004: Zhenhua Cai (James)
  • 2003: Mimi Lian
  • 2002: Phong Nhu Lu
  • 2001: Ri Jiang
  • 2000: Yun Yoo